So How’d That Beer Tour Go?

I bet you want to know how the tour/party went, but first one of the last things I did to clean for it. In contrast to what I talked about hearing from my steps last week, the steps themselves wasn’t white enough. It used to be a thing that everyone would scrub their marble steps every week. (This photo is Baltimore, whose rowhouses are an awful lot like Philly’s.)

Scrubbing Marble Steps.jpg

The plan was always to start this tradition back up after I was done lugging building materials in but… that never happened. Anyways, my mom had bought me Comet cleanser ages ago, but I wanted Bon Ami. Not because it’s any better or anything but remember that big photo of my great-great grandmother?

20160814_230807

Well, she lived about 500 feet away and she used Bon Ami. But I went to 2 stores and neither had it, so Comet it is. So here’s what I started with:

IMG_0312.JPG

And here it was after the Comet. Much better but some persistent black stains still ground in.

IMG_0313.JPG

Then out comes the Irishman and he says, “I’ll get that off for you in 10 seconds.” And he sprayed them with muriatic acid. This is NOT one of the recommended techniques for restoring historic masonry. So it was scary, especially when the marble started fizzing. But here’s the result!

IMG_0316.JPG

Then the Irishman did his own marble – not the original slabs like I have. This time I got a photo of the fizzing.

IMG_0318.JPG

And, never a dull moment, he hosed off his car just in case. THANK GOD it was his parked right here in case anything had happened! Also note his signature lack of personal protective equipment when working with dangerous chemicals.

IMG_0319.JPG

Then the inside prep. We took away most of the furniture. I said early on that I didn’t want my grandmother’s table because it has a leg in every spot you’d want a chair. I guess I forgot how great a gate leg table is for something like this. And the menu. My mom said that the things other people planned didn’t include enough vegetables so I made massive amounts of hummus, baba ganoush, red lentil balls, and crudités. And remember, it makes all the difference in the world to blanch your crudités. Quench them in an ice water bath so they stay crunchy. The colors are way brighter this way and I’d say the flavor is too.

IMG_0324.JPG

The Indonesian place around the corner (One of the places that were indispensable when I was kitchenless) provided a platter of vegetable fritters. And of course the fried food is what went. Now I’m planning every way possible to use up half a shopping cart’s worth of vegetables. And then there was how the guests fit. Definitely pushing the limits of what the Crooked House can hold. Just don’t tell the fire marshal I did this.

20161015_181858.jpg

Obligatory bottleneck in the kitchen. The keg was out back. Some people said my kitchen design was too closed in, but I don’t think it’ll ever matter this much again (Unless I’m a beer tour host next year).

20161015_182309.jpg

But all this make ahead, room temperature food (and the help of my parents and aunt) let me go to every house. Even though our visits to the houses before (seen below) and after mine were cut short.

17088.jpeg

I should keep this entertaining thing now.

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “So How’d That Beer Tour Go?

  1. francetaste

    I LOVE that old photo! Though the steps look breakneck without any railings.
    You are one brave guy for having so many people to your house. I would have just cleaned up after, not before….

    Like

    Reply
  2. Jo

    What a great start to extravagant parties at CCH. I would love to have a fridge full of blanched veg; they’d be gone in a wink. Naturally, being a native Baltimorean I remember my grandmother cleaning her white marble stoop. Jo @ Let’s Face the Music

    Like

    Reply
    1. Chad's Crooked House Post author

      And if you were closer I’d give you a bag. There’s really too much for little old me. Do you remember what your grandmother used? I’m reading that the old people liked pumice stones better than powdered cleansers but can’t buy them anymore. Since I’m not old I have the Internet and can get whatever I want.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Nine Dark Moons

    “it was scary, especially when the marble started fizzing.” – LOL!!! i can’t even imagine… the irishman is very helpful but very scary sometimes. but wow your steps look brand new! what a difference. i can’t even comprehend a lifestyle where i scrubbed my steps every week *GAWD*. i guess they had to fill in all the time we spend on the internets with something… glad the party went well – amazing how many people can fit into the CH!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment