The Irishman Giveth, The Irishman Taketh Away

To be fair, he didn’t actually take anything from me. He gave me 3 great days this week. I think that’s it, so lots of stuff is done, but there’s chaos everywhere and I’ve left it where it was for 4 days. Because there was this holiday I totally ignored. Then I decided not to ignore it on Christmas Eve and threw just enough together to save face.

So, Monday he came and we got the dryer vent pipe through the corner cabinet. But it wasn’t all smooth sailing. He bored through a wire. Panic ensued, but we were able to free it from the spray foam with enough slack to add a junction box in the cabinet and everything is fine. Tedious, but it’s done! You can barely even see this stuff with the carousel in place.

20151222_163536.jpg

Then he installed the higher base cabinet for that room divider I was talking about and all the woodwork in the living room! We actually have more done now including the trim at the top of the big opening, but I forgot to get a picture. I opted for dish storage on this side of the peninsula because I don’t really like stools, but this is high enough that I can eat standing if the table is set. That means it’s too high for short people.

20151222_155016.jpg

Some of you were a little confused about my wordy description of the awkward corner where the peninsula has 2 heights and wraps around the pipe chase and door casing. Here’s what it looks like in real life. Not so bad, right?

20151222_155048.jpg

And here’s the best view I have of the whole room. I have enough of that Formica to splice on pieces at both ends of the L you can see, and to do one side of the stove. The other side of the stove is going to get more of the free oak I have on the bar top. I think I’ll want the oak to the right near the door. Sometime later I’ll upgrade the work areas to all one material but probably keep the oak bar top for good. Do you agree with all this?

20151222_190212.jpg

Then, remember how the floor slants? Well, my counters are near the standard 36 inch height at one end of the room, but then over here they’re a solid 3 inches higher. Which I love. But it means that the whole kitchen is not for short people. And then my wall cabinets are so high I can’t reach them without a stool. But my 9 foot ceilings are basically the only place where my house gave me more than minimum sizes (or below today’s minimums) so I have to use it. I’ll also need to shim up these cabinets a weensy bit.

12359939_10109890038999454_6767727835775980919_n.jpg

There are a lot of loose ends to tie up but overall I’m pretty happy!

6 thoughts on “The Irishman Giveth, The Irishman Taketh Away

  1. Barbara H.

    I’m not sure what’s happening in the last photo, but you must be getting pretty excited – and exhausted. It has come a long way. Congratulations.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Chad's Crooked House Post author

      The cabinets hang from a rail on the wall, so what you’re looking at is a gap under them so big they can’t reach the floor. I’m just going to stack up blocks of wood to make it work. My kitchen floor slopes like 3 inches because South Philly used to be a swamp.

      Like

      Reply
  2. infinitequery

    any man with a beer handy is always Happy…..it’s a crucial part of their DNA Looking great Chad….A very prosperous New Year

    Like

    Reply
  3. Mary Elizabeth

    Things are looking quite do-able now! That Formica is unobtrusive and will be just fine until you live with your house for a while and decide what you want. When you finish shoring up the cabinets, you can build a recessed kick plate around the bottoms so it doesn’t show. I do have a question, though. Will you be able to get the stove level? That’s kind of important for cooking, baking, etc.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

