About those 3 deadlines

I think I’m giving up on the non-mandatory ones. Which doesn’t mean I got nothing done. First of all, this is the only memory left of that crap I couldn’t get rid of. Now kindly tell the IRS that it’s worth my entire income and I don’t owe any tax this year.

IMG_7845.JPG

But at this point it looks like it may be a strain to get the baseboards painted in a week. Which doesn’t mean nothing happened this week. I just decided to make the front bedroom actually clean and empty the closet. To accomplish this, put a shelving unit in the basement for all the paint stuff.

IMG_7847.JPG

This is not a joke. I filled an entire shelving unit with paint. I also put my old kitchen cabinets next to the stationary tub. The entire cabinet to the left with all the drawers is now filled with screws, nails, and drill bits. The whole thing.

IMG_7848.JPG

But this is a huge step forward. I had a lot of boxes filled with a mix of random crap and nothing. And now, 2 out of my 4 closets are empty!

IMG_7851.JPG

So doing that organizing wasn’t part of the plan. Neither was repairing the radiator pipes. Several of them have been cut and I don’t remember why. It’s an easy fix at least.

For now, all my woodwork is back in the basement. But the pile is getting smaller. And the basement somehow has more (useful) stuff in it and looks saner at the same time. The living room is empty again. My floor guy is coming tomorrow because there are drips in the poly. Hopefully third time’s a charm.

And not only is its closet empty and clean, but the front bedroom is clean and sorta furnished!

IMG_7850.JPG

And the bathroom is partially cleaned up. Now it looks like something normal slobs would use.

IMG_7852.JPG

So the old plan was that the baseboards would be prepped to paint this weekend. Now it’s pretty obvious that I’m running behind and so I don’t think I want my grandmother’s big super heavy maple sideboard in my back bedroom just yet. Which is all the better because my dad has it full of his stuff.

buffet and rug

The couch is still coming next weekend. And I’m hoping to get started with the painting. But now I want the front bedroom and linen closets all painted, too. I want some door strikes and stops installed. I want the house to actually start functioning like a house, at least upstairs. Can I get the heat on in 1 extra week, by the 13th? Or am I still delusional?

3 thoughts on “About those 3 deadlines

  1. infinitequery

    when the finish line is so close don’t the itty bitty gritty details seem like a drag anchor holding one from TA! DA! The finish…Probably there is no true and final completion to finishing a home..like raising children…..it ain’t over till its over and it is Never over. But still a home and kids are worth it all. Be proud and patient Chad..you’re almost there.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Mary Elizabeth

    I think you are very close to move-in ready. This does not mean that you won’t continue to work on the details after you move in, but I think it is getting close to livable!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

