One last look at my beat up floors

That’s right, I made it. Whew! The floor finisher said he’ll be here between 7 and 7:30 tomorrow. I’m on the floor where my bed used to be writing this now. So here’s a quick look at what I accomplished this week.

The scotia under the stairs that I wrote about before but forgot to photograph:

IMG_7498

Then there were these holes in the kitchen floor.

IMG_7496

I patched them the same way as I did upstairs about a year ago, except didn’t try to make these patches look good since they’ll be covered.

And the radiator alcoves, stained just like the doors. Everything took the stain a little differently but it all looks great. Those vertical lines are saw marks that are original to the wood, not horrible runs from me applying the stain badly.

IMG_7538

And a crazy amount of cleaning. My dad came down today and helped a lot with this. It’s weird to see the house empty. Full of stuff it’s hard to really see the house for what it is. So here it is, cleared out for the first time in 2 1/2 years, with a few minor alterations here and there. The downside is it kind of looks newer than I wanted it too. I think more woodwork will help though.

IMG_7542

IMG_7532

IMG_7543

IMG_7533

And you remember all that effort to have a paneled wall that’s secretly removable? Here it is taken off!

IMG_7528

You probably guessed by now that I’m not a magician, so there is a very ugly side to all this clearing out. You guessed right.

IMG_7546

IMG_7547

So, I’ve got a key laid out for my floor guy. But for now, let’s bid farewell botched sanding jobs, old mastic, paint overspray, and mismatched patches. They won’t be missed. But to the inlays we’ll say hello.

IMG_7548

6 thoughts on “One last look at my beat up floors

  1. infinitequery

    You could pull a home show magic wand trick ….put together some of your great shots of rooms before and rooms after and tell everybody you did it– By Yourself and in a half an hour including all commercial breaks..also write a book and some magazine articles and cash in.. As your “Agent” I am only going to charge 10% of your windfall! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  2. Mary Elizabeth

    I like “Infinitequery’s” idea! Seriously, this blog doesn’t reach a big enough audience. This has been a labor of love (and sometimes hate) for 2 1/2 years, and it’s been thrilling being on the roller coaster with you. And now refinished floors. Whee!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Jo

    You’re to be commended for the patience of waiting for the floors to be finished AFTER the messy work is complete. I love the two-tone border around the living room floor. We’ll be laying 2new floors. I wonder if we could make that happen. Unlikely. Jo @ Let’s Face the Music

    Like

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Considering the Unfinished Floors | Let's Face the Music

Leave a Reply

