Aside from painting, 3 steps forward, 1 step back.

Finding other things to do last Saturday so I could wait for the paint sale wasn’t much of a problem. One annoying job that’s been looming over me for a while was that grout haze gunking up my bathroom floor. About a year ago. I hired people to tile my bathroom floor. They effed up, then they redid it, and it still wasn’t perfect the second time but I called it good enough. But what was not good enough was that they never came back to buff off the grout haze. I got a few false promises, and then and they said that they couldn’t get it off because I tracked dirt on the floor. I don’t know how they thought I’d be dumb enough to believe that. I fired them and pocketed the extra money. I tried fixing their mess by using ScotchBrite pads, but I was working up a sweat without seeing any improvement and then the blue dye from the pad started staining the grout! I gave up and ignored it for a year.

P1040215

Finally, my dad found a YouTube video that showed how to do it. I used a nylon cup brush that you put onto a power drill. Also a mask, goggles, and ear plugs. Here it is now! Not perfect (yet?) but much improved. There are still a few bad stains from duct tape residue. Don’t worry, those will be easyto get rid of. This job made my hands sore, but in the end I saved a couple hundred bucks by getting screwed over, so it all worked out.

IMG_4080

Then remember how I sent out two of my grottiest radiators?

IMG_3897

They’e back! Blasted and primed white. I’m glad only primed because they’re already a little scuffed up. I’ll have to take better care of them when they’re painted for real. But also I’ll have the paint to touch them up so I guess it’s all good anyway.

IMG_4103

So I’ll give my metalworker an endorsement. Larry at Wrought Iron Revivals in Conshohocken. I like him and the price was more than fair.

And then… a more mixed success story. My parents’ neighbor offered me the granite top from her kitchen island. My top priority for Phase 1 countertops is that they must be free. Second after that, I want them to be food safe and sturdy enough to last 2 years or so. So obviously I said I’d take it. And so her contractor dropped it in like the worst place possible.

IMG_4167

Do you see that poor unfortunate day lily in the sink hole. He told me we had to move the top. But it was a little heavier than Daddy and I bargained for. It was a struggle, but we did get it off the perennials. Here’s the result:

IMG_4168

Why yes, that dent is new! My dad was angrily looking at dent pullers when I left today. Even though he did it (thank God!!!) I feel a little bit responsible. So, it goes without saying that we will be cutting this up to fit my kitchen BEFORE it makes its way into the city.

2 thoughts on “Aside from painting, 3 steps forward, 1 step back.

  1. Mary Elizabeth

    Well, yes, you are very busy with all this stuff. Isn’t it great how many instructional videos there are on YouTube? I’m a little surprised about the granite countertop, but you will make it work, I’m sure.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Chad's Crooked House Post author

      I said that my Phase 1 temporary countertop must be free. I’m not crazy about the granite but this is a huge step up from the beat up hollow-core flush doors I was previously going to use. But if it ends up being a lot of work to cut it up to fit my kitchen I might scrap it anyway. I’ve decided to avoid squandering resources on temporary work at (pretty much) all costs.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

